Tags

, ,

New oil painting.

My Oil Painting Journal

The Bath I-small

I’ve started a series of paintings using my warm-up figure sketches from the life drawing workshop I attend on Sundays. I try to maintain the integrity of the original sketch while incorporating the figure into the paintings that I’m creating.

This has been the most fun I’ve had working with paint since I’ve started painting regularly again four years ago. My previous paintings have been laborious and were not turning out the way I had envisioned them.

But these figure paintings have just been fun to do and that’s what I was looking for. I just want to enjoy the act of painting and to be creative in what I do.

This was the second painting I attempted using a figure sketch. The actual painting itself, not counting the preparation time, took only about three hours. When it was over, I said, this is it, it’s done. The only thing…

View original post 65 more words

