New painting that I just did today.

My Oil Painting Journal

Ever since I was a college art student about 32 years ago I’ve painted tightly. I couldn’t get away from natural tendencies to paint tight. I wasn’t very expressive in my use of paint.

I only painted occasionally after I graduated and never really developed as a painter. There were periods when I stopped painting all together. My job and family kept me busy but after my daughter graduated and went off to college I found the time to get back into painting. The type of painting that I liked had also evolved during that time. When I was an art student/young artist my favorite artists were Rembrandt, Vermeer, Michaelangelo and Andrew Wyeth. Now the artists that I really like are Picasso, Modigliani, Van Gogh, Edward Hopper, and Diebenkorn.

But try as I might, I still had the natural tendencies to paint tightly. I was starting to loosen up though and it was a little…

View original post 275 more words

