Tags

, , , , ,

We had a pretty good model today. She was tall, big boned with big bright eyes. There was a lot to take from her whether you wanted to draw the full figure or a partial figure.

This  first charcoal drawing was on tone paper using black charcoal and white chalk for the highlights. I didn’t want to do the three color chalk drawing on this pose because I really wanted to work the charcoal and get a good rendering of her face.

Figure drawing WP0002

 

On the next pose, I tried the three color chalk drawing. I still really haven’t gotten the hang of it yet. I don’t know if there’s too much to do with three colors in a short period of time, or my uncertainty of where I lay the colors down. Maybe it’s a combination of both. I’m still a little bit inconsistent in achieving what I want.

I continued working on this drawing during the break and managed to fix some things to make it a little bit better. I feel some progress was made today.

Sketchbook_tri-color 0004

