Tags

, , , , , , , , , , ,

 

We had a really good model whose poses provided a lot of light and dark areas, intersecting lines, overlapping areas,  and movement. Even in his compact poses he had a lot of those elements.

Warm up poses with sumi ink, brush, and chopstick pen

I started off well with the 10 warm up poses. Here are four samples of the ten 2-minute poses.

inksketch04227

inksketch04228

inksketch04229

inksketch04230

See more in my Ink Figure Sketches Album on Facebook. You must be logged in to Facebook to see this album.

White, black, and red on toned charcoal paper

I thought I might get off some really good charcoal drawings on tone charcoal paper for the longer 20 minute poses but I wasn’t happy with any of them.

I’m still relatively new to drawing on toned charcoal paper with black charcoal. with white highlights, and some red to add a some warm tint of flesh. I think using three colors takes a little longer, so I need to figure out the pace for the twenty minutes that we have. It’s not as easy as I thought it would be but I think it’s coming along.

So there’s nothing to post today from any of my twenty minute  charcoal drawings.

 

 

